[North Carolina state flag]

North Carolina State Government

North Carolina's government is based on the same principles as the federal government--three separate branches of government with checks and balances between each one. Those three branches are:

[Legislative Branch]

[Executive Branch]

[Judicial Branch]

The Legislative Branch makes laws for North Carolina. It is made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives, which together are known as the General Assembly. The General Assembly meets several times a year in Raleigh, the state capital.

The Executive Branch of government is the branch that enforces laws. The head of this branch is the governor, who is elected every four years. Along with the Governor, the Executive Branch also includes the Lieutenant Governor and many state agencies.

The Judicial Branch interprets what our laws mean and makes decisions about the laws and those who break them. It is made up of several courts, the highest of which is the state Supreme Court.

General Assembly

Governor Courts
  Lieutenant Governor  
  State Agencies  


[return sign]Return to the Main Page.

[return sign]Return to the Government Page.